Author Event: Beshert (fiction) by Erin Gordon

Wednesday, April 17, 2019 - 6:30pm

Recycle Book Club is pleased to welcome San Francisco based novelist Erin Gordon to our book club meeting at Recycle Bookstore in Downtown Campbell. She will be coming to sign autographs and discuss her recent literary fiction book, Beshert.

The book club will meet for half an hour for group discussion at 6:30pm before being joined by the author at 7pm.

About Beshert

On a bus in Tel Aviv shortly before Shabbat, Chelsea, a tourist from Colorado, is about to make a grave error. Noam, a local on his way home from work, spots what’s happening. Though he helps avert the disaster she’s set in motion, their lives are forever altered.

Recovering from a trauma back home, Chelsea has traveled to Israel hoping to restore her shaken faith. A scientist and a proud secular Israeli, Noam is working through his own traumas, which include a dead girlfriend and a phobia he’s ashamed to face. Though Chelsea and Noam hail from opposite sides of the globe, they find something in each other they’ve never experienced before. But how can an atheist Jew from Tel Aviv and a Christian from Colorado Springs create a life?

Hitting the sweet spot between novelty and familiarity, Beshert will appeal to fans of Emily Giffin and Sarah Jio. With a novel premise and a vivid Middle Eastern setting, the story is told from two perspectives and explores what happens when your core identity is challenged.

About the Recycle Book Club

Recycle Book Club meets once a month (sometimes twice) here at Recycle Bookstore to discuss a book-of-the-month, like all book clubs do. The difference is that the author actually comes to the store! After the members have met for 30 minutes (6:30-7:00), the author joins us to answer questions and sign books (7:00-8:00). There are NO requirements to participate. In fact, you don’t even have to read the book!

Event Details

Apr
17
2019
Starts at:
6:30pm
Ends at:
8:00pm
275 E Campbell Ave
Campbell, CA 95008